RSS Feed

Pregos Say the Darndest things….


I have had a few youngsters around me lately that are pregnant for the first time.

They just are so innocent and cute with their hopeful and sweet love for their unborn child.

They are so clueless as to what is about to happen to their life so they say some hilarious shit.

Sometimes I correct them.

Sometimes I just don’t say anything and nod my head in agreement.

Sometimes I just have a little laugh at their expense.

tumblr_inline_n286x9iLA11rydd6z

And sometimes I just cannot believe how little they know…..

So I laugh maniacally:

tumblr_inline_n286jgOeoT1rydd6z

But just remember Pregos!! While I might laugh at you and your Bugaboo strollers and your “Gender Reveal Parties” and your all-over dazed and confused stares – I ALWAYS warn you!!!!

Now here’s my Top 5 Hilarious things that Pregnant people say:

#1 – “I’m only crying because I am hormonal – I will be better once I have the baby.”

Nope.

That’s not accurate at all.

Think about the tears that you have shed over the course of the nine and half months of pregnancy.

Multiply that number of tears by 500 and smoosh all of that water into about 6 months.

That’s what lies ahead – my pregnant little angels.

Your hormones are still crazy after you have the baby and you can add to that the smell of poop, bloody engorged boobs, a fat stomach that has no baby in it, shrill screaming in the middle of the night and a nightly average of 5 hours of sleep.

The crying will continue and it will be deep sobbing to the depths of your soul.  Be ready for it.

#2 – “I only hate my husband right now because I am pregnant and hormonal, I will love him again after I have the baby.”

PLEASE SEE #1.

The hatred will become much worse.

Before you got pregnant – you likely would look over at your husband in bed and see this:

david beckham

So you are probably unaccustomed to any bad feelings towards your significant other…

But be warned that as soon as you give birth – when you look over in bed at your husband you will now see the same exact human being – but instead of looking like David Beckham – all you will see is this:

hangover

You will quickly assume the role of the mother which will include but not be limited to: caring for the child’s eating and burping needs, caring for the child’s private parts with various ointments, wipes and gauze strips, caring for the child’s comfort and sleeping needs, swaddling and clothing the child, among other household duties and entertaining and being nice to visitors.

During all of this you will look over at your husband who at one point you may of thought of as your knight in shining armor and you will see a stupid, useless, vapid creature who you want to murder in the night.  You will consider different ways you can murder him.  You will be up at night breastfeeding and you will see him drooling into his pillow and you will want to smother him.

You won’t do it.

In time you will probably like him again.

But please know that the hatred is far from over.

#3 – “I am going to breastfeed so I can lose weight.”

I mean apparently this can in fact work for Gisele and other women who are good at starving themselves to death.  Your body burns like 5000 calories via breastfeeding so your hunger becomes worse than ever.  In addition, you need to be sure to eat and drink certain things to create superior breastmilk – so it’s quite difficult to have breastfeeding take the place of Weight Watchers.

Breastfeeding is impossible as it is.  Breastfeeding AND starving yourself???  Don’t set yourself up for failure.

#4 – “I need a wipe warmer because I don’t want my baby’s butt to get cold!”

I mean – there are those that have said that I am a horrible person and mother -so maybe that’s why I never felt this maternal instinct to protect my children’s buttocks from mysterious winds indoors.

When children are screaming and crying and covered with piss and diarhea and it’s 3 AM – I never really gave two flying shits about the windchill near their assholes.

The rest of their life they will be sitting down on cold toilet seats.

I think it best that they learn about the harsh realities of life right from the get-go.

When your ass is out of it’s diaper, cold winds blow by and might cause a chill on your anus.

Isn’t that what life’s all about?

#5 – I heard that breastfeeding hurts…is that true?”

Um… I think the word “hurt” is an insult to breastfeeders across the land.

I don’t know, imagine taking your boob and touching the sun with it….

sunboob

Then imagine immediately going back to earth, lying down in the street and sticking your boob on the pavement and a yellow schoolbus, filled with tons of rotten children, drives over your boob…..

boob bus

and then imagine you sit up quickly and someone at that very moment shoots a gun and the bullet goes right through your nipple.

gunboob

That’s basically what it feels like.

Then like 40 minutes later – you have to do that whole thing over again.

It doesn’t just hurt.  It’s a searing pain that goes into the innermost layers of your being and for like 20 seconds you think you might actually die.  But once the baby latches on – it’s totally fine!  You will totally love it!

The important thing is to stay positive!!!

One day you will look back at all of this and laugh!!!

tumblr_inline_n286jgOeoT1rydd6z

I TAKE MY JOB OF WARNING NEW MOTHERS VERY SERIOUSLY – SINCE I AM DOING GOOD WORKS FOR OTHERS – PLEASE CLICK THE BANNER BELOW TO VOTE FOR ME!! XO, LADY GOO GOO GAGA

150-tmb

5 responses »

  1. Hi! I love this post because A is the truth and B is hilarious. I think i was once like this young and naive when I was pregnant with my daughter. Second time around is a whole different story because I was well aware of all the things that truly goes on after giving birth. Love the husband part because I do want to smother my hubby sometimes. Why do mommies have to do all of the work.

    Reply
  2. How I wish I could show this to one of my pregnant friends who thinks that this is all going to be a bed of roses. But I kind of want to see the look on her face when she starts to figure out what’s really happening. This was my best laugh of the day yet. Thanks!

    Reply
  3. Hahahahaha! Wipe-warmers can suck my d… well, you know. One thing you might not have experienced yourself – the torrential downpour of breast-milk while you are in the throes of passion (that one implausibly rare time you had 20 minutes + a good mood!).

    Reply
  4. So true, m’lady. Wipe warmers, bottle warmers, by the second kid all of it was cold. Also the diaper genie got hurled into the garbage pile shortly after the first birth. Because the only thing better than sleep deprivation is sleep deprivation coupled with the smell of three day old crap.

    Reply
  5. As a lactation counselor I just want to correct two things. You don’t have to eat superior food to create superior breastmilk.

    I was surprised, too. But it turns of they’ve done studies of women with crap diets and women with amazing diets, and found their breastmilk to be nutritionally equivalent. Your body apparently takes what it needs for your breastmilk and the only one you hurt with your crap diet is you.

    Also, some soreness happens. But if you’re having discomfort that lasts beyond the first few days, or gets worse instead of better, there’s something wrong and you need to see someone to help you. It’s usually something simple in positioning and latch.

    I nursed seven babies for over ten years total.

    That said, I don’t give a crap how women want to feed their babies. It’s not my business. All I want is for women to be well informed, and if they *want* to breastfeed, to be really successful with it.

    And yes, pregnant women are in for so many surprises!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

