RSS Feed

The Queen has fallen


I haven’t been sick in years. There’s a simple reason for that.

I can’t get sick. There’s never a good time for a mother to get sick.

There’s too much to do.

Funny enough after Saturday we had plans to go away for a few days and enjoy the 72 degree weather after a long winter of polar vortexes and several winter illnesses for Mr. Gaga and the children.

It was almost as though my body knew that it could fail.

There was really nothing I NEEDED to do – except enjoy the sunshine and possibly get a tan.

I came home Friday and took to my bed. I have been rolling around in a pool of sweat and despair ever since.

When Mr. Gaga was sick THREE TIMES this winter…I was admittedly not the best caregiver.

I think it’s because of all the dramatics that go along with his illnesses.

For some reason he insists on wrapping an old t-shirt around his neck like a scarf and sleeping with a hooded sweatshirt with the hood over his head. He will spend hours on end in bed like that, sometimes sleeping, sometimes watching ESPN.

Meanwhile I will run around doing everything by myself and try to avoid interacting with him.

I will spend my time dousing the children in hand sanitizer and Lysoling every inch of the house like a lunatic.

I steer clear of him as much as possible.

If he asks me for water or pills I throw them at his direction from the hallway.

nurse

Mr. Gaga has risen to the occasion of caregiver in a much more loving manner.

He has come into my sick room and given me soup on a tray.  He has brought me pills and beverages.

All of our plans have been destroyed and he doesn’t even hate me.

But still…..he’s not me.

Last night I could hear muffled voices from where I lay in hell my bed.

“What do you want for dinner?” Mr. Gaga asked Sam.

“A hot dog, a cheeseburger, and chicken nuggets.” he answered matter-of-factly.

“Ok, no problem.” Mr. Gaga answered.

I rummaged through the blankets and found my cell phone to call downstairs.

"Caarrottss.." I squeaked out...."and just one entree." I managed to say before I passed out from exhaustion.

“Caarrottss..” I squeaked out….”and just one entree.” I managed to say before I passed out from exhaustion.

When I woke up today I felt well enough to come downstairs and drink coffee and send you all this quick update.

Both children had slept in the filthy clothes that they wore all day yesterday and the house was filthy.

Dirty laundry is everywhere and my older son is in bed not feeling well.

This is shaping up to be a great spring break.

It might be just as well that I get used to not feeling well for spring…..

If this article is any indication….

pollen

 WHEN WILL THE TORTURES END?? I’M GOING TO SNEAK BACK TO BED NOW….JUST WANTED YOU ALL TO KNOW I AM STILL ALIVE….BARELY. CLICK BELOW TO VOTE FOR ME!!!

150-tmb

10 responses »

  1. You are very lucky that Mr G does not whine and moan like my ex did!

    Reply
  2. Get well soon

    This is the worst house EVER for sick people. Everyone here, me, wife, three girls are giant baby jerks when sick. Hang in there

    Reply
  3. Aww, feel better Laydee & hope that no one else gets it. As far as the house, it will still be there then you feel better. Get well soon. Happy Easter!

    Reply
  4. I know the feeling too well. When I got discharged from the hospital, our house looked like a dumpster! ugh. Get well soon!

    Reply
  5. Love the photo of Nurse Ratchet. Great post! Very funny. 🙂

    Reply
  6. vitatrain4life

    Well that just figures, doesn’t it? I’m sorry – that is awful. And I can so relate to the boys sleeping in their filthy clothes. What the hell? My husband also let’s mine do that when I’m not here and it makes me insane!

    Reply
  7. Awww…. get well soon Lady Googoo…Happy Easter!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Tomorrow Easter will be a thing of the past…. | Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  9. Pingback: Pampering in Goopville | Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  10. Pingback: WHAT I LEARNED IN 2014 | Lady Goo Goo Gaga

Leave a Reply

