RSS Feed

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff


This week my grandmother passed away.  She was the mother of seven children.  She stayed home and raised those seven children in a four bedroom home on a very tight budget.    She had no spending money for anything frivolous and struggled to have enough food, clothing, heat and hot water for everyone.

While most of the parents I know – would find this situation highly disturbing and would spend their afternoon chugging Pinot Grigio – she really didn’t seem to mind.

She spent most of her life in her home, (as she didn’t have a driver’s license) cleaning, caring for the children and doing laundry, including cloth diapers – which she called doing the “warsh. “

When I think of her life I really can’t imagine anything more horrific.  When I had just a mere TWO babies, I remember packing them into the car to run mindless errands just to kill time and when Mr. Gaga would come home from work, I would literally sometimes already be in my car waiting for him and pull my car out as he pulled in.  I would go anywhere for an escape, the gym, Starbucks….I would’ve gone to a hanging.  The thought of being trapped in a house with seven children with no vehicle is just ludicrous.

But my grandmother really never complained.  I don’t ever remember her even seeming unhappy.  I believe this was possible because she had something that my generation of parents lacks.

She had pills, a boyfriend, whiskey  an innate ability to not sweat the small stuff.

What parents stress about today and lose sleep over would never have bothered my grandmother.

The way we obsess about the food our children eat – was downright laughable to my grandmother.  She used to walk to the local farm every day to buy “cracks” which were eggs that had cracked.  She bought those because they were “on sale.” She was buying organic from “local farms” before it was cool.  The fact that food poisoning could occur at any moment was of no matter.

She didn’t care about the latest styles and fashions for her children.  She didn’t order designer clothing from Zulily and Crew Cuts like we do.  My aunts and uncles always talk about how mortified they were when they were in school.  Their clothes were rarely up to par and she used to make her kids wear Wonder Bread wrappers inside their rainboots to protect their feet – because the boots would usually have a hole in them. Nowadays we would be up all night worrying about the damage being done to our kids’ self esteem.

She slept soundly.

While we rush around spending millions on water slides and party favors for our little spoiled brats, my grandmother practically ignored her kid’s birthdays.  One time she famously had a left over square of cake and a half of a circle cake and smooshed them together for to create a birthday cake for both my aunt and my brother.  She saw nothing wrong with that until my aunt cried, at which point she said something comforting like, “Stop your crying.”

She had a zest for life.  Music always played in her home.  Any hairbrush or wooden spoon that was lying around nearby would be instantly transformed into a pretend microphone.  I remember distinctly going to her house after school sometimes if my mother had an appointment and she would be ironing clothes out of a huge basket.  She would take breaks to sing into her hairbrush and dance with my aunts.

She loved the arts and what little extra money my grandparents did have, was spent at the museums, ballets, and the symphony.  She was an artist herself, and any spare time she had she spent sketching or painting.

This painting of my Grandmother's hangs in my room.  I can relate to it because the mom is at the beach with two children and apparently her ass is so enormous that it is threatening to bust through the chair.

This painting of my Grandmother’s hangs in my room. I can relate to it because the mom is at the beach with two children and apparently her ass is so enormous that it is threatening to bust through the chair.

She made some mean pancakes on a griddle (that I don’t think she actually ever cleaned over the course of about twenty years) and a chocolate cake to die for that she called a “Brown Betty.”

She made being a mother, even of seven, look easy.

Throughout the funeral and wake, people were sharing stories and mentioning things that she used to say.  I got to thinking – what kind of impact would I leave for my children?  What would they remember about me?

“Sam – if you had to tell someone about your mother what would you say?” I asked casually while I was tucking him into bed.

“Oh – I would say you were pretty and smart, and that you told me I should say excuse me when you fart or burp.” he answered earnestly.

“What about something that I always say?” I asked.

“Oh – I would say whenever we complain – you tell us that there are people with no arms or legs!” he answered excitedly hoping to have the answer I was looking for.

I was happy with that.  Long ago I started to mention limbless people. in an effort to stop my children from complaining about insignificant nonsense and was glad that Sam remembered that.

The next morning I asked Michael the same questions.

“Um, you’re nice.” he answered mindlessly while he ate his cereal.

“Okay, well then what would you say if someone asked you what is something that your mother always said to you?”

He thought for a moment.

“Oh I know what you always say to me….”he said –  excited that he thought of something, “What the “F”?”

I stared at him in horror.

If I want my legacy to be something to write home about – apparently I have to get a little better at speaking to my children.

I need to calm down and take a page out of Grandma’s book.

I need to enjoy life and enjoy my children.

I need to skip the trip to the mall for new rain boots and sing into my hairbrush a little more.

PLEASE CLICK ON THE BANNER BELOW TO VOTE FOR ME FOR THE BEST MOTHER IN AMERICA!!

XO, LADY GOO GOO GAGA

150-tmb

 

 

 

 

 

10 responses »

  1. Excellent post. First one that made my eyes well up and not from laughing. RIP Grammy. Xoxo

    Reply
  2. Sorry for your loss. Grandmas are the best. I miss mine terribly and this reminded me of her too. Selfless, giving, hospitable, fun and fiesty.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. Dear Lady Goo Goo Gaga,
    Please tell your family that the Kalencik’s were humiliated by hand-me-downs and wore (generic) Wonder Bread bags in our boots, too… and we survived, too. But that is probably because our mom did drive and could escape the madness :)
    I’m sorry about your grandmother… but what a nice tribute!
    Mary

    Reply
  4. Condolences – Grandmas are the best.Sometimes I imagine that my deceased loved ones can read all the posts I’m most proud of. This is one you should be proud of. :)

    Reply
  5. Took the words right out of my brain

    Reply
  6. I am so sorry for you loss. This was an excellent tribute and I really like her painting. She really had talent because you can see the love between the mother and child. It’s also a good reminder that we need to be the true role models for our children. I’m going to have to ask my daughter what I “always say”. Thanks for the post

    Reply
  7. So sorry for your loss. She sounds amazing.
    Your sons comments made me snarf my ice tea.

    I was also a victim of baggies in my boots;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,785 other followers

