RSS Feed

Oh, Fudge


The other night I tucked Sam in to bed.

“I don’t think Santa is coming this year…” he said quietly.

“Why not?” I asked as I kissed his forehead.

“He’s just not going to come….” he said, his voice cracking.

“Did you do something bad Sam?” I asked inquisitively.

He nodded his head up and down and burst into tears, as he squeaked, “I said the “f” word!”

ohfudgegiftumblr_zps471240c9

“WHAT?!” I said completely shocked by my angelic 6 year-old’s confession. (although let’s face it – with my love for the “f” word should I be surprised?)

“WHY?” I demanded.

“I don’t know!!” he cried hysterically. “I said it in the shower…”

“WHY??? Did you hurt yourself? Was the water too cold? Did you drop the shampoo bottle on your toe?” I asked, thinking of different reasons why I say the “f” word in the shower.

“No…I just wanted to say it.” he answered tearfully.

I told him that although I was very disappointed, I was happy that he confessed and that perhaps if he was extra good, Santa would still come.

I could tell as he laid his head down on the pillow it was with a mix of relief from spilling his guts and terror about what the repercussions would be.

Two days later I had pretty much forgotten about the incident but Sam was apparently still haunted by his shower slip up.

We went to see Santa at the mall. Michael boldly told Santa all of the items on his list.

Sam quietly spoke to Santa.  I couldn’t hear what he said.

When we walked away I asked “What did you tell Santa you wanted?”

“I told him that all I wanted was for him to have a holly jolly Christmas!” he answered beaming with pride.

I think Santa will forgive him.

And we know I will.

WHAT? Do you think this would ever happen at my house????

tumblr_lwoe3oy06x1qh8dp1o1_500

Never!!

Soap poisoning!!!!

I have had an insanely hectic week and I will continue to be crazed until December 26th!! So forgive the short post – I ENTERTAIN YOU PEOPLE 365 DAYS A YEAR!!!

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL AND TO ALL A GOOD NIGHT!! XO, LADY GOO GOO GAGA

150-tmb

2 responses »

  1. I always feel guilty about short posts, too, but I think sometimes people enjoy them–especially if, like now, we’re running around crazily trying to get everything done. In any case, cute post!

    Reply
  2. Father Christmas, aka Saint Nicholas, aka Santa Claus, is a bad idea. But, oh well, good luck, all you parents. I know it aint easy.

    What I thought as Mammy, and Daddy, and three big sisters, told me the truth was:

    1) I am no longer too young to know, and

    2) WHAT ELSE?

    (I won’t start on about the other mythical guy in the sky. No politics or religion…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,980 other followers

