RSS Feed

Lady’s Favorite Things 2013 edition


So last year I listed some of my favorite things and I thought I would make it an annual tradition.  Maybe I will help you with a gift idea, but also I just like to tell people what to do.  Since the people I live with don’t listen to me when I tell them what to do – I figure I can just tell all of you instead.

Think of it like Oprah’s Favorite things, except that I only have like 5 favorite things instead of hundreds, and also – I won’t be giving anyone a car or really much of anything.

I just want to tell you all about a few things that have brought me great joy this year:

#1 – BREAKING BAD:

meth-breaking-bad-bryan-cranston-large

If you have not watched this program – you are so lucky.

That means you can binge-watch the whole series this winter.   It is absolutely some of the best television you will ever watch.

Thank you Breaking Bad for bringing me many hours of delightful entertainment that I would have otherwise spent watching yet another housewife drink too much Pinot Grigio.

This is also a great gift idea – Buy the whole set of DVD’s for someone and change their life!

2 – Waterproof Eye makeup:

I said this last year – but it needs reiterating.

So somewhere between the lack of sleep, the aging, the hurried getting ready in the morning and the horrible weather in Connecticut, there comes a need for waterproof eye makeup.

I totally had it together before the kids.  I had my cosmetics routine down pat.

Somehow the new wrinkles and puffs that children brought to my eye area, as well as the lack of time to do nice eye makeup – resulted in a black smudged mascara and liner all around my eyes on the daily.

If you think looking like a heroin addict is a cute look for volunteering at the bake sale, you are mistaken.

The worst is when you don’t even realize you look like a lunatic until you get back into your car and you have already chatted it up with 5 moms and the school principal.

Sure, I would love to set up a playdate! Your house or mine??
Sure, I would love to set up a playdate! Your house or mine??

Last year I talked about the the Laura Mercier Caviar Stick (which is still up there in my list of faves)   However, this year Laura Mercier invented the best eyeliner in the history of eyeliners.  It actually can be worn for days at a time without a smudge!!!  It is gel, it is waterproof and it is the best invention since the DVR.

I am giving one of you a Laura Mercier Gel Liner in Slate ($20) this week just because I love you…(see below for details)

slate

 

3 – Orange is the New Black

Alex-Piper-orange-is-the-new-black-35506831-1269-710

I have very little leisure time.  At night I have to make hard choices.  Should I continue to watch back to back episodes of Mob Wives until one in the morning? Or should I go to bed and read some of my book so that my book club doesn’t hate me? Or should I read US Weekly?

Maybe I should wax my moustache…..or fold some laundry…..

I should change this nail polish.

I should catch up on the 23 episodes of the Bethenney show that are stored in my DVR…..

You see how this could get dicey.

A book has to be quite entertaining to lure me up to my room when there are so many entertainment options….

So I have to say I was quite intrigued by the prison culture that was in the book Orange is the New Black.  So much so, that I was even considering committing a crime in order to get whisked away to this magical spa-like place they call “jail.”

Read this book and you will see why going to the slammer isn’t necessarily the worst idea.

TELL ME THE BEST BOOK YOU READ THIS YEAR IN THE COMMENTS BELOW AND I WILL PICK A RANDOM PERSON TO SEND MY COPY OF ORANGE TO……

4 – LITTLE GREEN POUCH

OK, I am definitely a far cry from an environmentalist.  Apparently very responsible people don’t use styrofoam, don’t litter and like spay and neuter their animals (not sure if that has to do with environment – but really couldn’t even think of one more thing to say regarding that in particular.)

Also – they can use little containers for food that are reusable.

The creators of the little green pouch have offered to send one of you a “little green pouch,” which is a reusable food pouch for kids that was one of DAILY CANDY’S featured finds.  Like this post on facebook to be entered to win!

greenpouch

5 – EXFOLIKATE:

I have never been to California.  I imagine it to be a bunch of blonde people who rollerblade and eat kale and talk about their acting careers and say “dude” a lot.

I don’t really take much seriously that Californians are in to.  I don’t rollerblade, I don’t love kale and I am not an actress.  I have dark brown hair and I never say “dude.”

This is pretty much what I envision.

This is pretty much what I envision.

Apparently there is one well-kept secret from the Californians that I actually do enjoy.

Her name is KATE SOMERVILLE and she is a GENIUS!

The line just came to my local Nordstrom.  I was very skeptical….

Then I tried the EXFOLIKATE.  This scrub is the most amazing thing to touch your face.  Your face will feel like a baby’s butt when you are done.  So even though you are tired and weathered and old – at least your skin will feel like a baby’s butt!! What more can we ask for at this point??

Go to Nordstrom and get this  - you can thank me later for your new face.

Go to Nordstrom and get this – you can thank me later for your new face.

I hope I have given you some good info this week  – Don’t worry I will be back to regular business of calling children assholes next week for sure!!!

LIKE THIS POST ON FACEBOOK!!! for the LAURA MERCIER Slate Eyeliner that will change your life and ensure that you don’t look like a crystal meth addict the next time you are stuck in rain running errands…..

ALSO LEAVE ME A COMMENT WITH SOME GOOD BOOK SUGGESTIONS!!!

Winners will be picked randomly (US AND CANADA ONLY) between now and Sunday December 15th at 5 PM!

All of the opinions and mentions are my own opinion and nobody gave me anything!!! (as usual) and I’m just telling you to use these things because I like telling people what to do.

XO, LADY GOO GOO GAGA

15 responses »

  1. Very funny!!! My favorite two books I read last year are “Touching the Void” and “Into the Heart of the Sea”..

    Reply
  2. The best book that I read this year is called “The Red Tent” by Anita Diamant

    Reply
  3. I loved Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl. It’s got kind of a Pride and Prejudice thing going on, which is nice because it lets me read a romance novel but still maintain my delusion of being and intellectual and having standards. Also, it’s funny. Excerpt below.

    “I love you, Althea— you are so beautiful,” murmured the young man into my ear. Well, I was willing enough. I looked up at him from under my eyelashes. “I love you too,” I confessed. I averted my gaze and added privately, “You are so rich.” Unfortunately, I apparently said this aloud, if just barely, and his hearing was sharper than one would expect, given his other attributes. “I beg your pardon? You love me because I’m rich?” “Not only because of that,” I hastened to assure him.

    Kindl, Patrice (2012-06-14). Keeping The Castle (p. 1). Penguin Group US. Kindle Edition.

    Reply
  4. Best book was Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn!

    Reply
  5. Thanks yet again for the laugh. I only have 16 episodes of Bethenny DVR’d to sit and watch one day–actually now 17, crap it’s Monday again. I guess I really only get to watch it when I skip work to go to the taping (done that twice-still haven’t watched those episodes). Can’t give u a book recomendation as I have been planning for months to sit and find a book to read. Keeping in theme of Bethenny heard her novel Skinnydipping was a good read. Maybe u can read it for me?!? Lol. Where do u find that eyeliner at? Sounds like it could be the answer to some of my prayers.

    Reply
    • How did you go twice to the taping?? I am so jealous!!! Skinnydipping is a great idea! I meant to read that and forgot all about it!! The liner is at Nordstrom, Saks, Lord and Taylor….but wait – maybe you will win it;)

      Reply
      • Pretty easy, apply online from her site Bethennytv.com. Believe they are accepting for February tapings, they email you as the date gets closer and if they are doing a special taping. I was at the PJ party one that aired I believe the monday before Thanksgiving (Yup..still have not watched it! lol). I also live in CT, Newington, and love any reason to go to NYC. I have lame family and friends, so doesn’t happen often. lol.
        If you do read Skinnydipping I want to hear about it. I have the book you could borrow, once I clean the dust off of it. haha. Maybe my ‘New Year’s resolution’ should be to make time to read a book. :)

  6. i just finished “brain on fire”. it’s sad (it’s a true story) but is also redeeming.

    Reply
  7. It depends on what you are looking for. I really like “Defending Jacob” but it is sort if a downer. I also really like “Water Witches” by Chris Bohjalian. Good Luck! I’ve just joined a trashy novel book club so book club reading is fun now

    Reply
  8. I’m currently reading Nick and Norah – teenage anxiety at its finest. I also read, “This life is in your hands” because I have visions of becoming a homesteader. Turns out, it’s a lot of work. Vision cured. I’ll stick to my backyard chickens and garden in the suburbs of Denver and purchase the rest of the stuff we need.

    Reply
  9. Orange Is The New Black, Walking Dead, and Sleepy Hollow are the appointment television shows in our house.

    My wife and teenage daughter like the other stuff you listed.

    Happy Merry so Far

    Reply
  10. Courtney Etheredge

    Divergent is the best book I’ve read this year! You will love it and the movie comes out in March.

    Reply
  11. Best book I read this year was A Cuckoo’s Calling. Me Before You was good, too. If you want a laugh, anything by Laurie Notaro is great!

    Reply
  12. I found you from Martinis and Minivans today and I absolutely loved your answers – mostly because they are so much like what I would say! Then I roll here and the first thing I see is Walter White! Seriously? Breaking Bad was the best TV I’ve even seen, ever. Then, it gets better – I also live in CT! I’m not going to stalk you or anything but I really love your blog, Just found a new fav! :-)

    Reply
  13. I absolutely loved “The Last Original Wife” by Dorothea Benton Frank, it was funny & smart. I have since started reading everything this lady has written. You will love it. Love your blog. I was late to the game on Breaking Bad but I loved it. I’m going back to catch up from the beginning of the series. Merry Christmas to you ! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,893 other followers

