RSS Feed

Making Mr. Gaga


Because it’s Father’s Day I had to not ask Mr. Gaga to do anything, I had to not complain about anything in the house.

I had to not be bitchy or snippy.

I had to bite my tongue when he was watching Rocky in the middle of the day for no apparent reason, and I had to smile robotically when he said he had to go to my brother’s house at 2 o’clock in the afternoon “because smoking wings takes hours and we need to start early to have them ready for dinner.”

As a result I am totally mentally drained.

This week I am offering a very short and sweet tale.

Mr. Gaga wasn’t always Mr. Gaga.

He used to have his own hopes and dreams that didn’t include me.

Even after we were dating for a while, he repeatedly attempted to break it off.

“I don’t think we should go out anymore….we have to break up.” he would say.

“No.” I would answer back.

“I am going to go out with other people.” he would plead.

“Yeah, no…..you’re not.” I would calmly answer.

“I don’t like you.” he would say when he was at the end of his rope.

“Yes you do…you love me.” I would answer back.

It wasn't that I was completely insane...it was just that I knew we were meant to be....

It wasn’t that I was completely insane…it was just that I knew we were meant to be….

Finally when nothing he would say would stick he would just throw his hands up and say “Ok fine – forget it.”

I was always making this poor guy do things that he didn’t want to do.

I had visions of romance and love and I would make him to take me to fancy restaurants, buy me fancy gifts, write me fancy letters.

I was 19.

One night around the time that he kept trying to break up with me, I had planned a romantic night in watching movies in my college dorm while all of our friends were out at a bar.

We were about to start the movie, and I excused myself to go to the bathroom.

When I came back Mr. Gaga was missing.

window

I looked out the window.

This guy was so determined to get away from me, he jumped out a second story window, landed in some bushes and I could see him running down the street towards the bar.

Thinking quick on my feet I tossed aside my lounge clothes and put on my “Break up shirt.”

*Because Mr. Gaga was frequently breaking up with me, I had special clothes I wore during tumultuous times, called “break-up shirts” that basically allowed me to go out naked, ensuring I would receive much attention from men out at the bar. 

Oh well, I'll just drink this whole bottle of vodka and I am sure someone else in this bar will be happy to watch a movie with me....

Oh well, I’ll just drink this whole bottle of vodka and then I am sure I will find someone else in this bar who will be happy to watch a movie with me….

In the end, no matter what he did, he just couldn’t manage to escape.

He stopped trying after a while, and we were in love.

Then we had kids, and though we still love each other, things can get hectic around here and sometimes I yell at him or act a smidge bitchy.

Also I started a mom blog in which he stars as “Mr. Gaga.”   I mean what more could a guy want?

Sometimes he might secretly dream of jumping out that window, running like the wind into the night and drinking shots and beers until he can’t stand up.

Thankfully, he no longer acts on it.

He’s learned over time that there’s no use trying to escape….he will be Mr. Gaga forever.

THE LESSON HERE IS A LITTLE STALKING NEVER HURT ANYONE AND CAN SOMETIMES PAY OFF! I am a lucky girl.  Happy Father’s Day to Mr. Gaga and all the Dads out there!

XO, LADY GOO GOO GAGA

challenge114

 

18 responses »

  1. The more I hang out at your blog, the more you and Mr Gaga sound like me and the Bobina.

    Happy Day of the Father’s, Mr Gaga. I’m glad your wife didn’t take no for an answer. And boobies rule everything.

    Reply
  2. aaagh, I agree, it was so hard today, I only acted bitchy twice and feel about to explode. Way to go!

    Reply
  3. Mr. Gaga sounds like a keeper!

    Reply
  4. This is too cute. I love the idea of break-up shirts!

    Reply
  5. The Glenn Close picture is priceless, and props for the “break-up shirt”, it’s brilliant in its simplicity – hahaha!

    Reply
  6. I love every little part of this, and I know how hard it is to hold in the bitch monster when she is just dying to come out and play, so kudos to you for reigning her in!

    Reply
  7. this is hysterical! i can’t believe he jumped out the window! and i do understand all the work it takes to keep the bitchy under control. good work. he deserves it. ;)

    Reply
  8. For a minute, I thought you were going to jump out the window after him. I was completely unprepared for the “break-up shirt.”

    Reply
  9. I love the break-up shirt, I bet it worked every time.

    Reply
  10. Too funny. Glad Mr. Gaga finally accepted his destiny :)

    Reply
  11. I do love the breakup shirt and that you can reign in the bitchy…but you musta been just a little bit scary!

    Reply
  12. Mr. Gaga is one lucky dude! At 19 years of age you knew what you wanted and you fought to keep it. It took him a little time to come around- but he knew it too.
    I saw a quote that said something like, it’s easy to fall in love but it takes work to stay in love. You are working it!
    Great post! I really enjoyed it.

    Reply
  13. I can’t believe he jumped out the window! That’s just crazy! He could have saved himself the trouble since he probably knew you were going to put on the break-up shirt.

    Reply
  14. Hahaha, this sounds like my early years with Mike…he put his foot down, though, and I eventually outgrew my Glenn Close phase. ;)

    Reply
  15. this cracked me up! My dad also jumped out a second story window to get away from a date. And also once hid in a fireplace. But neither of those dates was my mom, thankfully. Glad you caught your man!

    Reply
  16. Cute! Glad you won him over in the end ;)

    Reply
  17. I love that he jumped out the window – that’s priceless!

    Reply
  18. You Must NOT leave out important details of this story Laydee! As one of Mr. Gaga’s confidants, I DO believe you left out the part where you ran after him in your SOCKS in the DEAD OF WINTER! And how about the fact that you booked the church for your wedding BEFORE you got engaged! You knew what you wanted and went for it. Kudos to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,892 other followers

