RSS Feed

“Does Barry Manilow know you raid his wardrobe?”


The problem with “stay-cations” is that they are really just about “staying”  and not really much about  “cationing.” 

You stay home, cooking and cleaning and yelling at your kids, and then you say “I am on a “stay-cation!” and that’s supposed to change anything??

One good thing is that the weather was absolutely glorious this week – which was lovely, especially after Mr. Gaga and my brother worked 5 long days to put together our new playground!! 

At the end of the week – I got to have an actual girls’ getaway – with my sister-in-law and mother at the Waldorf Astoria.  I was looking forward to shopping, being pampered at Drybar and eating and drinking at amazing restaurants, like Le Cirque and  Il Buco Alimentari e Vineria

Life is great.

Only one problem.

My usual problem.

My rags.

I have been able to sneak by with fashion choices during the past few years – that have kept me somewhat in style. 

Mostly due to luck (thank you boyfriend blazer, Juicy Couture, UGGS, and ballet flats.) 

It was like fashion magic that as soon as I was too weak and fat to wear a heel or a pant with a button, the styles changed to suit my needs. 

And thank you, Pamela, for making it perfectly acceptable to wear UGGS with any outfit and making it cool to look like a lunatic while running errands....

It seems that the party is over.

Apparently while I was home wearing wifebeaters and flip-flops for 7 years,  the rest of the world time-traveled to 1985.

I totally had not realized that we had gone back to the 80’s  – and I needed clothes for my NYC stay. 

“Where should I go? I don’t even know what to do, I am such an old weathered nerd….” I asked my BF. 

What is your damage, Gaga?  Didn’t you blog about this a year ago and say you were going to Ann Taylor Loft?” she asked.

“Oh right….I never did that.”

This is always what happens to me.  I get by with my t-shirts and jeans and then when I have to go somewhere I am in trouble.

So off I went to Forever 21 and H&M to get something cool and trendy.

The entire store was filled with 80’s fashions.

80’s fashions were hard to pull off in the actual 80’s when I was 10.

This was my absolute favorite outfit circa 1988. I made these "jorts" myself - and my aunt made that Madonna t-shirt in art class- and we cut it into a half shirt. I distinctly remember laying on my bed and pulling the zipper up on those bad boys with a wire hanger. I don't really have that kind of time anymore.......

It is extremely hard to pull of now that I am in my 30’s, fat, have a muffin top……older.

Let’s just say that when you want nothing more than to look like this……

If you are an old weathered housewife – it ends up looking like this……

Apparently women that are still occasionally asked when they are due – do not look good in skin-tight neon pink pants and half shirts.

I came home defeated wearing a new black jacket and more wifebeaters.

What are you wearing?” asked Mr. Gaga.

” A jacket. It used to belong to Jimi Hendrix.” I replied.

“You bought a used jacket? What are we, poor?”

I decided I would just shop when I got to New York…. you know the land of skinny women who are on top of every trend. 

That was a totally awesome idea! 

NOT.

My sister-in-law and I went to Saks first, thinking it wouldn’t be as absurd as Forever 21.

When we arrived I realized that Saks had time traveled to the 80’s as well.  As I looked through the piles of colored neon pants, leggings with lace on the bottom and half shirts – I couldn’t believe my eyes.  I think I even say a t-shirt on it that said “RELAX.”

“I feel like I have already been down this road.” I said with shock to my sister-in-law, as I looked through a pile of jelly bracelets.

Roads? Where we’re going, we don’t need roads.” she answered cryptically.

“Huh?”

The store was filled with 80’s pants and I tried to narrow down my choices….

I finally narrowed it down to these 10.....

I asked a young man to help me choose something appropriate.  You should wear these – he said picking up the hot pink pair of skinny jeans.

“I don’t think so…” I answered.

“You should listen to me – I have been here for 7 1/2 years…I’m no dummy.” he answered.

I politely declined.

I finally settled on a coral cropped pair and paired it with coral nails and lips.  I considered a Swatch watch but felt it was too ridiculous and just picked up some feather earrings instead.   We spent HOURS shopping and we finally had some trendy pieces to work with.

We were so happy we finally had found a good outfit that we could wear to dinner that could also be worn when we take the kids to the park or playdates.....

I picked up some Rubix Cubes and some Garbage Pail Kids for Sam and Michael and headed back to the hotel to get ready.  We continued to enjoy our luxurious weekend of eating and drinking.

By the time I got home I was fully relaxed, completely comfortable with my new 80’s fashions and feeling very pampered.

I was thrust back to reality right when I came home to see filthy bedrooms with Lego pieces everywhere, laundry to the ceiling, and no food in the refrigerator.

I looked at Mr. Gaga who was watching a game.

“I don’t belong here, I feel it, don’t you think I feel it! I can’t do any of these vile things and I wouldn’t WANT to. Oh, my life is like death! My children are the spawn of hell, and you’re the devil. Oh God!”

He looked up at me and then looked back at the television.

Corn nuts.

So in honor of the fact that we have time-traveled to the 80’s I felt compelled to incorporate 6 movie quotes from the 80’s……

What are some of your favorite quote from the 80’s???

73 responses »

  1. Dearly beloved, we are gathered here today to get through this thing we call life. Electric word life, if means forever, and that’s a mighty long time. But I’m here to tell you there’s something else. The afetrworld. A place of neverending happiness, where you can see the sun, day, or night. So when you call up that shrink in Beverly Hills, you know the one, Dr. Everythinggonnabeallright. Instead of asking him how much of your time is left Ask him how much of your mind, baby ‘Cuz in this life Things are much harder than in the afterworld in this life you’re on your own

    Reply
  2. I’ll have to think of some 80 quotes- of course, there’s always “It’s all ball bearings” or “I’ll have a steak sandwich and a steak sandwich”.
    Loved this post- you are hysterical- as always!

    Reply
  3. Can’t think of any quotes either, but I am having Valley Girl flashbacks!!! Loved that movie!!! JOHNNY ARE YOU QUEEEER BOOOOY….JOHNNY ARE YOU QUEEER BOOOY!!!! LMAO!

    Reply
  4. 80’s are great for a halloween costume parties but not for real life…this is a trend and will soon pass then you will be stuck with a closet full of crap you will not wear again until the 80’s cycle makes it’s way back into fashion again. Stick with classics pieces they will get you through many years and mix a few inexpensive pieces form H & M.

    What’s that? Sushi. Sushi? Rice, raw fish and…seaweed. You won’t accept a guy’s tongue in your mouth and you are gonna eat that?

    Stupid, worthless, no good, goddamn, freeloading son of a bitch. Retarded, big mouth, know-it-all, asshole, jerk. You forgot ugly, lazy and disrespectful. Shut up bitch. Go fix me a turkey pot pie. No dad, what about you? Fuck you. No dad, what about you?

    Reply
  5. Alexander Luthor

    “I skate, you skate . . . We skate. Maybe we could get together and be a skating team.”
    “You’re a jerk.”

    Reply
  6. I think I’m actually more horrified to see that it’s moving into 90s fashion now. We’re all about to be a living episode of Portlandia.

    Reply
  7. Do it for Johnny?
    This one is the best yet, and I think you know why:)
    Love the pictures!

    Reply
  8. My favorite movie from the 80’s is the Big Chill. Love this scene. Meg: They’re either married or gay. And if they’re not gay, they’ve just broken up with the most wonderful woman in the world, or they’ve just broken up with a bitch who looks exactly like me. They’re in transition from a monogamous relationship and they need more space. Or they’re tired of space, but they just can’t commit. Or they want to commit, but they’re afraid to get close. They want to get close, you don’t want to get near them.

    The 80’s were not my best years. LOL Too funny.

    Reply
  9. Duckie: You know what an older women does for me?
    Iona: Changes your diapers?
    Duckie: Touché.

    Next time, Mrs. Gaga: slim black tailored pants, cream silk button-front top, colored cashmere cardi tossed over your shoulder, animal print flats on your tootsies…or cute jeans with a striped boat neck T and a grey cashmere boyfriend sweater (step away from the pink pants…)

    Reply
  10. Oh Sam, let me take a look at you. Fred, she’s gotten her boobies.
    Grandpa Fred: I better get my magnifying glass.
    Grandma Helen: Oh, and they are so PERKY.
    Samantha: I can’t believe my grandmother actually felt me up.

    LMAO!!! Mortifieddddddddddddd when I saw this back in the day!!

    Reply
  11. “Chips, dips, chains and whips” Weird Science. Love that movie! “Only an asshole has a haircut like that!”

    This has always been one of my favorite blogs, constantly hillarious! I’m an old follower with a new blog.

    Reply
  12. Weird Science “Chips, dips, chains and whips” “Only an asshole has a haircut like that!”

    Hillarious as always! This is without a doubt one of my favorite blogs. I’m an old follower with a new blog. Feel free to stop by.

    Reply
  13. Here are a few from one of my all-time favorites.

    Stacy: When a guy has an orgasm, how much comes out?
    Linda: A quart or so.

    Jeff: Hey, you’re ripping my card.
    Mr. Hand: Yes.
    Jeff: Hey bud, what’s your problem?
    Mr. Hand: No problem at all. I think you know where the front office is.
    Jeff: [stunned] You dick!

    Mike: I woke up in a great mood; I don’t know what the hell happened.

    Reply
  14. Loved this post! Oh my goodness – serious flashbacks! Can’t believe this is where the fashions are! Sigh! :) Thanks for stopping by and for the kind comments on my blog. Wishing you a great week!

    Reply
  15. this is by far the best post i’ve ever read, i chuckled the entire time, it’s all so true!

    Reply
  16. Love the 80’s flashbacks. I totally rocked some Madonna-esque hair and looked just like the old weathered housewife.

    “I don’t know why they call this stuff Hamburger Helper. It does just fine by itself, huh?”- Cousin Eddie, National Lampoons Vacation

    88Share

    John Hughes’ greatest movie quotes: ‘Breakfast Club,’ ‘Sixteen Candles,’ more…
    by EW staff
    Tags: In Memoriam, Movies, PopWatch Quote of the Day, Movies

    Comments 144
    Add comment

    The best evidence of John Hughes’ impact on popular culture might be the generation of people who grew up in the 1980s and ’90s who can recite multiple quotes from his movies from off the top of their heads. Here are a choice few from Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink, Ferris Bueller, and more. Kick back with some of the quotes and clips below, then let us know your personal favorites in the comments.

    ‘The Breakfast Club’ (1985)

    “Does Barry Manilow know that you raid his wardrobe?” (quote at 0:12) – John Bender (Judd Nelson)

    “Dear Mr. Vernon, we accept the fact that we had to sacrifice a whole Saturday in detention for whatever it was we did wrong. What we did was wrong, but we think you’re crazy to make us write an essay telling you who we think we are. You see us as you want to see us, in the simplest terms and the most convenient definitions. But what we found out is that each one of us is a brain…and an athlete…and a basket case…a princess…and a criminal. Does that answer your question? Sincerely yours, the Breakfast Club.” — Brian Johnson (Anthony Michael Hall)
    Watch the clip here.

    Get more EW: Subscribe to the magazine for only 33¢ an issue!

    “I never did it either. I’m not a nymphomaniac. I’m a compulsive liar.” (quote at 2:22) – Allison Reynolds (Ally Sheedy)
    Watch the clip here.

    “Obscene fingers gestures from such a pristine girl” — John Bender

    ‘Ferris Beuller’s Day Off’ (1986)

    “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” — Ferris Bueller (Matthew Broderick)

    “Oh, well, he’s very popular, Ed. The sportos, the motorheads, the geeks, sluts, bloods, waistoids, dweebies, dickheads — they all adore him. They think he’s a righteous dude.” (quote at 0:36)– Grace (Edie McClurg)

    ”Beuller…Bueller…Bueller…” (quote at 2:40) — Economics teacher (Ben Stein)

    ‘Sixteen Candles’ (1984)

    “What’s happening, hot stuff?” — Long Duk Dong (Gedde Watanabe)

    “I’ve never bagged a babe.” (quote at 1:24) — The Geek (Anthony Michael Hall)
    “Fresh breath is a priorty in my life (quote at 2:25) — The Geek
    Watch the clip here.

    “I can’t believe I gave my panties to a geek.” — Samantha Baker (Molly Ringwald)
    Wach the clip here.

    ‘Planes Trains & Automobiles’ (1987)

    “Those aren’t pillows!” (quote at 1:07) — Neal Page (Steve Martin)

    ‘National Lampoon’s Vacation’ (1983)

    “I don’t know why they call this stuff Hamburger Helper. It does just fine by itself, huh?” — Cousin Eddie (Randy Quaid)

    Reply
  17. Well.. since “Alexander” took my quote here are a few more faves:

    “C’mon, man! It’s Christmas Eve. I could be home drinking this really great egg nog that my brother makes with lighter fluid”

    “Gee, I’m really sorry your mom blew up, Ricky, guess she won’t be able to eat any spicy foods for awhile.”

    “Fronch Bread; Fronch Fries; Fronch Dressing. And to drink…Peru”

    Another great post Lady!!!

    Reply
  18. I’m in love with this post. And the 80s.

    Reply
  19. Can I just tell you I watched Pretty in Pink again over the weekend. Long live the 80s. Thanks for sharing on Monday Mingle.

    Reply
  20. As for any fashion trend, I have already decided that if I wore it the first time around when it was popular, there was no way in hell I’ll do it again. Bye bye, jellies, neon, & don’t ever ask me to tight roll my jeans again!

    “Can I borrow your underpants for ten minutes?”

    Reply
  21. Hahah okay, I’m not coming up with any good quotes. But I think the whole 80s fashion comeback thing is a bit annoying. Womp womp.

    Reply
  22. What’s your damage, Heather?? BEST 80s quote ever and I made my offspring learn it too. 80s fashions were a nightmare and they ARE EVERYWHERE!! who knew that acid wash was a trend worth repeating?? Fun post, Erin

    Reply
  23. “I carried a watermelon” from Dirty Dancing- because I always say socially awkward phrases!
    Kerry at HouseTalkN

    Reply
  24. I love the Overboard and Heathers quotes :) Holy cow, this post was scary…and hilarious! Favourite quote? First one that pops into my head is: “Answer the question, Claire” , or “Girls cannot hold their smoke. That’s what it is.”

    Oh, just realized your title is a quote too…same movie as mine :D

    Reply
  25. Wait…. the 80s are back!?!? I remember my mom making me a neon shirt, which I paired with a matching headband and leg warmers . That’s going on again!?!? I think I’ll stay here in Kenya and ride this one out.
    Breakfast club quote:
    “Well, Brian, this is a very nutritious lunch. All the food groups are represented. Did your mom marry Mr. Rogers?” “Uh, no. Mr. Johnson.”

    Reply
  26. hilarious! and so true. I’m heading to my 3rd 80’s party since February next weekend.. ugh. Been missing you!!! Soo good to read your posts!!

    Reply
  27. awesome.
    one of may all time favorite quotes from a movie: Demented and sad, but social.

    Reply
  28. Ahhhhhhhh, the 80s…Such happy memories! Your coral choices sound perfect!

    Reply
  29. My absolute favorite line: “Nobody puts baby in a corner.” I still love Dirty Dancing.

    Reply
  30. sisterhoodofthesensiblemoms

    While I was dying from the 80’s montage (in my head I read it to the song Relax, Don’t Do It), I did a spit take to this little line: “You should listen to me – I have been here for 7 1/2 years…I’m no dummy.” he answered. I SO appreciate the subtlies.

    And because you asked for an 80’s quote, and my head is so filled with them, it has apparently created some kind of cortical log jam and I can’t produce even one! And I have too much integrity (and laundry to do) to Google it. Ellen

    Reply
  31. Love the 80s- high school and college for me- good memories until some blogger had to make it sound like it is a thousand years ago. ;)

    Reply
  32. You’re still way ahead of me. I didn’t even realize we were back in the 80’s. Maybe by the time I catch up fashion will make sense again…

    Loved this one!

    Reply
  33. Blind in my mind’s eye on some of those pix..
    WG

    Reply
  34. Not a single neon colored anything flatters blondes. I basically ran out of The Gap screaming yesterday, because I caught myself in the mirror surrounded by Hampton Beach 1988. Hellzno.

    Reply
  35. Jams–and an upside down “Why Be Normal” shirt–also “I ain’t ‘fraid ‘a no ghost!” AND “Bueller? Bueller?” GREAT post!!!

    Reply
  36. Love this post and the 80s memories it reminded me of. To me the 80s will always be 16 Candles.

    Reply
  37. We went on an actual vacation this year. And while we had a great time, we both agreed afterwards that we would have been just as happy staying home. But then, maybe we’re super lame. And yeah, I hear you the thread issues.

    Reply
  38. I think I may be in love with Lance. Maybe.
    Don’t you wish you just kept all of your stuff? Seriously. I totally owned the exact same Madonna t-shirt you are wearing in that pic!! I may have cut the bottom off with scissors though. You know, to make it more “flashdancier”.
    Fave line “Demented and sad, but social”. Judd Nelson (who I may have seen in person in Montreal and who was nowhere near as hot as he was at the time of this movie) in The Breakfast Club. That was the ’80’s right?

    Reply
    • Of course you are in love with Lance!! Isn’t everybody??
      And I totally cut my shirt with scissors so it curled up at the bottom perfectly right above my belly button!!! We’re twins;)

      Reply
  39. Thank god no one stole my quote, I know I’m a little late to the game. Best quote from any movie ever!!
    Heather #1: You stupid fuck!
    Veronica: You goddamn bitch!
    Heather #1: You were nothing before you met me! You were playing Barbies with Betty Finn. You were a bluebird. You were a brownie. You were a girl scout cookie. I got you into a Remington party. And what’s my thanks? Its on the hallway carpet! I got paid in PUKE!
    Veronica: Lick it up baby! LICK IT UP!

    Ok, I didnt google that. In fact, I’ve got that entire movie plus another hundred or so that I could recite for you! Love my 80’s movies!!!!!!

    Reply
    • Thank God! I was wondering where you were!!! I love that scene…I know that whole movie too!!!

      Reply
      • And I forgot to comment on the 80s fashions making a come-back. I guess I’m in the minority but I do like it! The other night I went out to dinner and wore hot pink cropped jeans (gap), a black tank, and black platform pumps, and I think it looked pretty cute! As long as its an updated 2012 version of 80’s fashion, I think its perfectly OK!

  40. “Does Barry Manilow know you raid his wardrobe” may very well be the nest line from Breakfast Club. Nicely done.

    Reply
  41. Most of my fave quotes have already been shared, but I loved this post and the time-traveling I did as I read. Gotta love the eighties…or else be terribly embarassed by them :)

    Reply
  42. Love it! Great post.

    Following you from Mom Monday Blog Hop… a few days late but I’m going around to all the awesome blogs and checking them out.

    Jessica @ At Home Take 2

    Reply
  43. I can’t get into this 80s revival. I prefer my comfy clothes. If I need something different White House Black Market is my go to. And then Ann Taylor Loft and The Limited.

    Reply
  44. I too grew up in the 80s but never watched those movies until like the mid 2000s so I never know anything about the culture I grew up in!

    And I am sad to say that from here to Paris, the 80s are back with a vengeance. I saw it with my own eyes in Paris in February. Since I am a middle school teacher, I am always first in my crowd to know the latest fashions because nothing says fashionista like a 12 year old girl. I threw up when I saw the first return of the jelly bracelet. My jaw hit the floor when I saw the first pair of Madonna gloves make their comeback. And I was speechless when I saw the first Flashdance influenced bare shoulder/sweatshirt hanging to one side disaster walked into my room. And don’t let me talk about the neon tights, I mean jeans. Wow. High tops and everything. It’s like I never left middle school. Oh wait. I never did leave it! I’m living my middle school years all over again, but on the other side this time and it ain’t pretty!

    Reply
  45. kelleysbreakroom

    This made me laugh! You are SO right about Forever 21 and H&M having tons of 80’s clothes. What is the deal? I also agree about staycations. Not much ‘cationing at all! (Thanks for linking up with us over at #findingthefunny!)

    Reply
  46. What is this weird obsession with 80s fashion? It was terrible then it is still terrible now! I won’t go back no! I won’t go back!

    Reply
  47. My 13 y.o. daughter was going through my HS yearbook the other day and it was, well, weird. 1st weird thing: “Mom, you were sooooooooo pretty!”
    And now I’m what? OLD.
    2nd weird thing: “Mom, I wish you would have kept your clothes, they were so awesome!”
    What? I had to cut out the shoulder pads of everything b/c of my linebacker shoulders. Really.
    She shops at Forever XXI and H&M and I despise everything in those stores. Reminds me too much of being awkward and insecure.

    Favorite quote has to come from Bryan Adams b/c it was the first concert I attended without parental escorts. He gave over the entire first verse to the crowd and I died:
    “I got my first real six-string
    Bought it at the five-and-dime
    Played it till my fingers bled
    Was the summer of ’69”

    or

    If someone said something “stupid”, we’d respond like Dana Carvey’s Church Lady, “Isn’t that special?”

    Reply
  48. Great post and I am so impressed that you braved the neon! I haven’t been brave enough myself! Your weekend sounded great! My friends and I were just talking about whether it was worth going away or not, with the disaster you come home to and spend the whole next week fixing!

    Reply
  49. Pingback: Bullets for Breakfast « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  50. localsugarhawaii

    Oh I laughed– I really laughed esp. at “corn nuts?”– thanks for that.

    So I’m here to follow you from Monday Mingle, and I will make my way back up to the top to see just how to do that but I was so very busy reading every single one of your words and loving it. Come join the ride, we’ll have tons of laughs to share.

    xoxo,
    Nicole
    localsugarhawaii.com

    Reply
  51. I like the valuable information you supply to your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at once more here regularly. I’m slightly certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the following!

    Reply
  52. This is really fascinating, You’re a very professional blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to searching for more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

    Reply
  53. So good post,we have learned more on it.Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,790 other followers

