RSS Feed

Power back on!! House still a mess :(


If  you are like me you still have a rotten pumpkin on your front steps and cob webs in your bushes. 

If you have ventured out to the world of retail – you would find that not only is Halloween over – but we have skipped right over Thanksgiving and started the Christmas cheer earlier than ever!! 

Apparently now the shelves of Milky Ways and candy corn are wiped clean and immediately replaced with stocking holders and candy canes!

This gives me anxiety.

I mentioned that I sometimes fall behind on housework and get overwhelmed with my hectic schedule…right?

So – my house was a shit-hole and the laundry was to the ceiling
and the dishwasher was filled with dirty dishes and then ……the power went out for 10 days!! 

So when it finally came on – it was basically a vile disgusting ice-box filled with dust and soot from the fireplace. 

Oh yeah – and the laundry went to the ceiling at this point.

Oh yeah – and the refrigerator was stone-cold empty – like we just moved in.

And add to this that apparently it’s Christmas.

Not only do I have to remove my Halloween decor and start decorating for Christmas – but I have start throwing out all my kids toys!!!

You heard me correctly – In order to maintain some sort of order around here – I like to throw out the kids toys a little bit everyday.  This way we have more room for new stuff they get for Christmas.

Nothing crazy – I’m not a horrible person….just McDonald’s toys, games and puzzles with missing pieces, any Nerf items, etc.

This was much easier when the kids were little and they didn’t
really know what they had.  Also - toys were on the larger side – so I could easily make room by throwing out stuffed animals or blocks.

I remember before I had kids watching “Everybody loves Raymond” and thinking this mother is a total asshole – her house is disgusting filled with hideous junk and toys…and her stairs were always filled with stuff.  I couldn’t watch it.

I vowed I would never have a house that looked like that.

Yeah right.

Can you believe that weird little pile of toys behind them used to irk me - and now I can only dream of having a house this nice and clean.......Sorry for judging you Deb

When the kids were little I felt like the walls of my already small house were closing in on me.  As rooms became filled with swings and jumpers and high chairs – I would dream of the day I could throw it all out and my home would go back to normal.

Instead what actually happened is that all that “stuff” got replaced by more “stuff,” but it just got a lot smaller and smaller.

And just when you thought little itty-bitty pieces couldn’t get any
smaller……enter the LEGO.

As a girl – I was never a big fan of the LEGO.

Just looking at the LEGO “map” of directions is enough to make me have a stomachache and break out into a cold sweat.

I make Mr. Gaga do all LEGO building – and I just frantically try to keep things in order by putting all the pieces in the correct labeled Tupperware container.

Inevitably they make their way out of the containers and ALL OVER THE HOUSE.

[/caption

I step on at least one sharp piece a day in my bare feet. 

I find them everywhere.

I found this pirate and his capsized boat in my coffee last week....

This is what I want to see when I get my period......

They are in my UGGS, in the shower, camouflaged in every rug, on the back of the toilet, under every bed…..

And magically – both kids actually know where each piece
belongs.

The other day I was vacuuming on our first day of power and I actually said,

“Who’s wig and handcuffs are these?”

So now we have pirates, Star Wars and S&M LEGOS........

Sam said “Oh that’s my LEGO police hair and cuffs,” matter-of-factly as he plucked them out of my hand.

I don’t know where he put them.

I will probably step on them tomorrow.

So this whole story is leading up to how excited my kids are going to be to go to the LEGO KidsFest in Hartford, December 2nd through the 4th. 

What’s even more exciting is that next week I am going to give away a pair of tickets to the LEGO KidsFest to one of my loyal fans!!!

Stay tuned!!

In the meantime – can you please click on the banner below!! You won’t win anything except my love:) XOXO LADY GOO GOO GAGA

 

Linking to shell at http://www.thingsicantsay.com

18 responses »

  1. Haha, this is so funny. It is amazing how fast everything can pile up. I get the laundry done by the end of the week and once the weekend is over I’m suddenly doing laundry for the next couple days. It. Never. Ends!

    Reply
  2. At least you can be thankful you’re not in the Duggar family. I was watching a Q&A episode and they said they do 10 loads of laundry a day. How is that even possible? I would die.

    I would also start to hold the Lego pieces hostage, until they start putting them away. You also might get a revolution on your hands, so maybe it’s not worth it.

    Reply
  3. I’m kinda stunned by the comment above me- 10 a day???? They must have multiple washers and dryers. Like 10 of them.

    My oldest is in love with Legos. He’s getting some monsterous Harry Potter Lego castle thing for Christmas.

    Reply
  4. Things pile up so fast! Great, and very funny, post!

    Reply
  5. LOL! I’m catching up.
    I have lego pieces everywhere too – and a baby. Not the best combination.

    Reply
  6. Funniest post ever!
    My son is almost 5 and I’m thinking he’ll probably end up with Legos for his birthday. I have survived 5 years without having to deal with it and now my life is over :( LOL

    Reply
  7. Pingback: It’s a Wonderful Life…….for my husband « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  8. Pingback: Even our Snowmen are Guidos « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  9. Pingback: Preschool Mother Fail « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  10. Pingback: Ode to Mr. Gaga « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  11. Pingback: A story about a music class with no music…just scarves « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  12. Pingback: Be careful what you wish for… « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  13. Pingback: “Having it All” « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  14. Pingback: Christmas Tree Take 2 « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  15. Pingback: Blizzard Etiquette « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  16. Pingback: Eff the Presidents « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

  17. Pingback: Eff the Presidents it’s my birthday!! « Lady Goo Goo Gaga

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,873 other followers

